She Speaks Conference Entry

This post is different from the usual.  As my regular readers know, I started this blog in order to keep people abreast of how things are going with my daughter Kate, who has a number of disorders on the autism spectrum.  But I didn’t title it as such, in any way, because it is as much about my journey through many facets of my life as it a progress report on Kate.  It is important to me that I write about this path that God has set me upon because it is given to us to share the burden, and whatever it is that we encounter in our lives, it is always a comfort to know that someone else has walked, or is walking, that path.

So this post is actually an entry for a contest to win a scholarship to Proverbs 31 Ministries’ 2011 She Speaks Conference. The conference is for women who wish to serve God by ministering to other women through speaking,  writing, or leading, who desire to do it well, and want to learn all they can to enhance their God-given abilities.

Attending this conference would be a dream-come-true.  From the time I was a child tapping out stories on my mother’s big old Royal typewriter I wanted to be a writer.  I was encouraged by teachers in high school and college to write.  Long story short, I got married at 21 and had 8 children.  Occasionally along the way I tried to revive the dream, but the demands of parenting that many children didn’t allow for much time to do anything but that.   So I journaled, and longed for the time when I could put the words that continually ran through my mind, shifting and composing into meaningful thoughts, onto paper.   My baby is now nearly 12; only 4 are left at home.  (God has a sense of humor: all girls, 12, 14, 16 and 18!)   I am a grandmother.   I have been waiting a long time, gathering experiences and memories, growing in faith, waiting for the Lord to show me how to use this gift that He gave me for His glory.

When once I lamented to a friend about all the years that had passed and my frustration that my dream had never come to be, he just scoffed.  “Twenty-somethings can’t write- they have no life behind them, nothing to write about.  But you, you have had a life.  You have something to write about.”  So I have journals and snippets of thoughts, and manuscripts in dozens of documents on my computer- and only a vague sense of what to do with them!  The She Writes track sounds like just what I need to push off in the right direction, along with the inspiration to keep me going.

You can read more about the She Speaks Conference at Lysa’s blog here:  http://lysaterkeurst.com/2011/03/she-speaks-scholarship-contest-2011/?cp=4, and on the website here: http://shespeaksconference.com/.

About Gail Aubertin Brunt

I am: a child of God, saved by grace, living by faith. I am: wife, mother, grandmother, sister, aunt, niece, daughter. I am: fallible, yet forgiven, and redeemed.
This entry was posted in Autism Spectrum Disorders. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to She Speaks Conference Entry

  1. Bette says:

    Gail, I will be praying your dream comes true, you deserve it. Your friend was so wise how can you write when you have no life behined you. We will be praying you get to go to the conference

Leave a Reply

